Hei Helsinki!

Helsinki

After what felt like 1000 goodbyes, I started on my way to Helsinki – with mixed feelings! Although I had spent hours in planning my journey, I felt quite unprepared and doubtful. I had never been to Finland or even to a country north of Germany, so I had no idea about who and what was waiting for me there. Fortunately, I travelled with my friend Janine who spends her semester abroad at the same business school.

As the plane prepared to land, I had the impression to touch down in the middle of a large woodland. Indeed, the country is the richest in forest all over Europe! At the same time, Finland is also the most sparsely populated one with its 5.3 million inhabitants! Approximately 80% of them live in Southern Finland, literally speaking within the 100 km radius of Helsinki. As a “Berliner by choice”, however, I would not characterize the capital as populous or even crowded – which certainly has its advantages!

http://www.rukakuusamo.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/travel-to-finland-5.jpg

On my arrival I also realized that Finns are very helpful and reliable people. My tutor Romeo met me on time at the airport and accompanied me along the way to my apartment by taxi which was paid by university. Unbelieveable! This would never ever happen in Germany! I felt very welcome, especially when I received my key and a special welcome package for exchange students including a map, travel guides and a prepaid card. Whenever I have questions or need some help, he told me, I should feel free to contact him. In other words, it is not necessarily true that Finns are quiet and cold-hearded people!

Romeo even showed me the way to the next supermarket, where I experienced my first small culture shock: grocery prices! Especially alcohol, dairy products as well as fresh fruits are much more expensive than in Germany. On the one hand, the general living standard is higher than the EU average, but on the other hand price competition is not working. The Finnish food sector is dominated by the S-Group and K-Group owning approximately 80% market share. Although the German retailer Lidl is not able to force their prices down, it is a good alternative for students to buy cheap food there.

In the evening, I met my two French room mates who seem to be very nice. I hope that we have a great time together, especially in the cold and dark winter when friendship and cohesion within a strong group is the best remedy.

20130904_145813

Leave a comment